Homemade Gourmet Tuyo

Tuyo (Dried Herring) is a staple product in the Philippines perfect for breakfast. It is best paired with fried eggs and rice.

While I am not a huge fan of this, I totally flipped when I have tasted the upgraded version of it. It’s called “gourmet tuyo”, and I must tell you it is so good. It’s perfect to make ahead of time and grab it during breakfast because it becomes delicious as time goes by.

There are different versions out there, but after trial and error, I got the recipe that’s perfect for my choosy palate. I hope that my neighbors won’t persecute me for the smell that lingers outside. But how can I turn my back on this recipe?

Oh well! Let’s get started.

Check your pantry and fridge to see if you have the ingredients. By the way, the measurements included are based on my preference. But with every cook out there, you can adjust it as always.

Kassey’s Gourmet Tuyo 

(makes one 8 oz jar)

  • 8-10 fried tuyo
  • 1 medium-sized carrot
  • 4 small pickled dills
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 5 cloves of garlic
  • chili peppers (optional)
  • 1 1/2 tbsps. of vinegar
  • olive oil

Here’s how I made it:

  1. Fry your tuyo first. Set aside and then remove the scales and bones. Don’t mind the teeny tiny bones because those are very difficult to remove. They will soften in time.You wanna use gloves also to avoid the smell sticking on your hands.

    img_9142
    Stinky but yummy!
  2. Prepare your other ingredients. As always, you can adjust this based on your preference. Pictured below are carrot florets, dill pickles, chilies, garlic, sugar and paprika. You also wanna use a high quality olive oil because it creates a huge difference. You also need tiny amount of vinegar. I used Apple Cider Vinegar on mine, but you can use any type. I just think this levels up the recipe based on my experience.

    img_9144
    Create a rainbow!
  3.  Heat up 1/2 cup of olive in a pan. Carefully add the tuyo and simmer for three minutes. Make sure your fire is set on low heat. Do not stir them to avoid breaking the fish.

    img_9145
    Bath time!
  4. After three minutes, carefully add your garlic, chilies, carrots and pickles.
  5. Add in your vinegar and let it simmer for 2 minutes. Make sure not to stir it.
  6. Add your sugar and paprika and let it simmer for another 3 minutes. Afterwards, carefully stir everything to blend in the flavor. Taste the oil and adjust the flavor according to your preference. Note that the fish will of course remain salty.

    img_9146
    Goodness in one pan!
  7. Let it cool down and place in an airtight jar to preserve it. It is best to wait at least 5 days so all the flavor will steep in.

    img_9154
    Will I be able to wait?
  8. Serve it with rice and enjoy! A little goes a long way. After opening, you can keep it in the fridge for longer shelf life. Or like me, I place it close to the window since it’s mostly cold here.

    img_9155
    How can I resist you?

Note: Make sure to use your kitchen hood to dispose the unwanted smell. I also like to light up my Bath and Body Works candle to cover up the smell right away.

I hope you try it and let me know how it goes. Just remember that this is just a guide and you are the boss in the kitchen. You do you! Adjust anything based on your own liking. Please tag me on Instagram if you benefit from any of my recipes by using #kasseyinthekitchen.

Here’s a printed version for you:

Homemade Gourmet Tuyo

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Easy to make ahead dish perfect for breakfast.


walkingwithfavor.wordpress.com

Ingredients

  • 8-10 fried tuyo
  • 1 medium-sized carrot
  • 4 small pickled dills
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 5 cloves of garlic
  • chili peppers (optional)
  • 1 1/2 tbsps. of vinegar
  • olive oil

Directions

  1. Fry the tuyo first. Set aside and then remove the scales and bones.
  2. Heat up 1/2 cup of olive in a pan. Carefully add the tuyo and simmer for three minutes. Make sure your fire is set on low heat. Do not stir them to avoid breaking the fish.
  3. After three minutes, carefully add your garlic, chilies, carrots and pickles.
  4. Add in your vinegar and let it simmer for 2 minutes. Make sure not to stir it.
  5. Add your sugar and paprika and let it simmer for another 3 minutes. Afterwards, carefully stir everything to blend in the flavor.
  6. Let it cool down and place in an airtight jar to preserve it. It is best to wait at least 5 days so all the flavor will steep in.
  7. Serve it with hot rice and enjoy! A little goes a long way.

Note: After opening, you can keep it in the fridge for longer shelf life.

Leave a Reply

