My Lazy Yakitori

We all know Japanese are very creative when it comes to preparing their food.

Yakitori is a Japanese dish that involves skewering the meat with skewer like bamboo stick.

I call mine “Lazy Yakitori” because I adapted the main recipe to suit my needs and mood. This is in no way disrespecting the dish, but because I was caught in a last minute idea of what to cook for dinner. I checked my fridge and pantry on what I can cook quickly and there it popped out the famous Yakitori.

My version features indoor cooking because the winter days where I’m at are no fun. I also skipped the skewer just to make it fast. But come summer, these Yakitori will have their pretty look once more.

But I guarantee you that you will love the taste just like the typical Yakitori.

So here’s my version:

You only need simple ingredients that are probably available on your pantry. I only used six chicken drumsticks.

You need:

  • soy sauce
  • sugar
  • mirin
  • chicken drumsticks (They typically use chicken thighs, but hey these are what I have.)
  • onions

It’s super quick but yummy. Come and see.

  1. You want to start with the TARE first, or the sauce. Combine 100 mL soy sauce, 100 mL mirin and 2 tbsp. of sugar.

    img_9041
    Who is that girl I see…when will my reflection..?
  2. Let it boil for 3 minutes and lower down the heat. Wait for another 3 more minutes.
img_9042
Bubble bee, bubble bubble bee!

3. Coat your pan with a thin layer of oil and put in your boneless chicken. I used drumstick, chopped them into bite-sized pieces and removed the skin and bones. Cook them for few minutes until you can’t see the raw portion. Note: You can skip this step if you have a griller.

I have no energy at the moment to start up the grill outside in a cold, mean winter.

4. Heat up your cast iron skillet or if you have pan griller and place your chicken pieces and onions. Chop your onions into bite-sized pieces. Sprinkle little amount of Tare (the sauce mixture). Cover it for around 3 minutes.

img_9043
This smells divine!

5. After 3 minutes, stir your Yakitori pieces and place around 2 tablespoons of the Tare on the amount of chicken placed above. Cover it again for 3-4 minutes. Afterwards, serve them on a plate with a cup of rice and you are ready to devour.

img_9055
Yummy Yakitori in few minutes!

I tell you, this is such a yummy dish. During winter, we tend to crave some barbecue type of food and this will surely save your day.

I love this. Love,love, love.

In fact, I am going to cook this again tomorrow because I have left over Tare.

Mmmm, don’t judge! Just try it. And tag me on Instagram @walkingwithfavor or use hashtag #kasseyinthekitchen.

Here’s the printed version for you.

My Lazy Yakitori

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A super quick and yummy dish perfect for barbecue cravings.


walkingwithfavor.wordpress.com

Ingredients

  • 6 chicken drumsticks
  • 100 mL soy sauce
  • 100 mL mirin
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 onion

Directions

  1. Chop your chicken into bite-sized pieces. If you are using drumsticks, remove the skin and the bones.
  2. Prepare your TARE or the sauce by combining 100 mL soy sauce, 100 mL water and 2 tablespoons sugar.
  3. Boil your Tare and lower down the heat. Let it simmer for additional three minutes.
  4. Thinly coat oil on your pan and cook the chicken pieces until you don’t see the raw part. (Skip this if you have griller.)
  5. Heat up your cast iron skillet or grilling pan and place the chicken pieces and bite-sized onions. Sprinkle few amount of the Tare and cover it for three minutes.
  6. After three minutes, stir the chicken and add six tablespoons of Tare. Cover it again for three minutes.
  7. Serve with a hot rice and enjoy! 

Note: If you have left over Tare, keep it in a container and put it in the fridge for future use.

Leave a Reply

